See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Reason Number 17 To Own A Cell Phone

04/08/2003 - 2:29 p.m.


For years I didn't want a cell phone. Partly because I didn't want people to be able to call me at any time of the day or night, no matter where I was, and partly because I lived and worked in two different regions - southern New Hampshire and Boston, respectively, although before that it was vicee versee.

The problem with that was that all the plans that were available made it super expensive in one or the other of those areas, and I just didn't feel like spending 65 cents a minute to make phone calls.

And have you ever tried to compare those effing plans? You need to be some kind of rocket scientist to decide which is the right one, I tell you!

So I didn't get one.

Then my car's engine blew up and I was stuck on the side of the highway for almost an hour. It wouldn't have been so bad, but it was that horrid cold almost rain weather where you feel like your entire body is being shot through by teeny tiny ice bullets and no one would stop to help.

Worse yet, I was less than a mile from my office as the crow flies, but there was no good way to get there what with the 10 foot high chainlink fence and the death-defying plummet down the cliff and what not.

That experience was really filthy, so I went and did some research and found out about the pay as you go plan, which menat that I paid for a certain amount of minutes and it cost the same whether I used it at home or at work or any of many places in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic.

I hadn't had the phone very long when I discovered that there was one feature of cell phone usage that no one had ever told me about, and might have caused me to get one a lot sooner, which is:

When some jamoke in a big truck, or small truck, or even a car, cuts you off, or tailgates you, or generally acts like a schlemiel, and they have a phone number on the side of said vehicle, you can call their boss and complain. And the best part is, if you're lucky, they'll see you doing it.

Of course, I always use the headphone, because making calls while driving is dangerous enough without using one of the hands to hold the phone next to your head.






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!