See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Dates, music, cats.....

01/21/2002 - 11:38 p.m.


Had another poisonal ad date tonight - the woman who I intended to write to who wrote to me first - and it was AOK. Better than, really. Not the dreamfest that my first date with Miss Almost-Perfect� was, but what could be? Probably just as well, because, look how that turned out. This was pretty effing all right, though. We had planned to go to a place downtown, in a bit of an "adventure" mode, because she had never been there, but the snowy filth weather made us change our plans to something less distant and more familiar to us both. This place turned out to be closed. Shades of the 1970s - a restaurant/bar that is closed on Monday nights. Who knew? So we ended up at yet a third place, which was quite pleasant indeed.

Quiet little neighborhood bar with almost no one in it when we arrived. A couple drinks, a bit of not-bad-for-bar food, and some v. swell talking about all kindsa schmuh. What we do, what we like, where we've been, where we'd like to go, art, music, travel, growing up, blah blah blah.

Well, it started out quiet, anyway. Suddenly it was shortly after 10 and the neighborhood blues band had arrived. Why is it that blues music leaves me so very, very cold? Without blues, a huge portion of the music that I like would never have existed, and there's a pretty strong case to be made that the stuff I write is a weird urban moderne form of blues. But, mother dog and her two left feet, put a guy with a harmonica on stage and my feet beat a hasty retreat. RL Burnside, now, that's a different matter..... though a lot of his stuff is rather dull too - but most blues just leaves me wanting less.

Plus, it being after 10, and I had a drive home of about an hour, we called it a night. We had taken her car to the other bar, so she dropped me off at my car.

"I had a great time," said I in my suavest manner. "Would you like to do this again?"

"Yes," she said, "I would. When? Well, of course you can call me," she said, laughing.

"Um - soon," I said, Mr SuperSuave again. "I have a lot going on this week, but - I'll be in touch."

Then we linked fingers for a second, had a quick pecky smooch, and said good night. Then out the door and across the street and into my car, and zoom.

Nice all around. Looking forward to the next time.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Driving home, I listened to the CD of rough mixes of my stupid "solo" record that I've been "working on" for filthy ever - though not with any regularity. And you know what? It passed the speed test.

Thebot expressed concern that I might have too many tests in my life, especially where wimmen are concerned, and she may be right - but - this is an important one. The speed test:
Does the rock-oriented record you are listening to make you drive too fast? If so, you know it's frigging aces.
And, not to sound too all-fired impressed with myself, but - I was speeding along like a guy who just wasn't concerned about the icy road conditions.

I'm feeling good about this project again for the first time in a long time. It still needs some real work, but it's sounding pretty dang good. And the finished tunes (4 of 'em, I'd say) really are full of fresh-picked goodness.

Heewack!

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Cat update - Things are going super well. The Grumbler just watched me pet NewCat� and didn't do a darn thing. He got a little tense, but - heck - that was huge. This might work out after all.

Even huger - the 4-Legged Bug is in my lap - purring - and NewCat� is in OldCat�'s favorite workroom spot - right next to my typing chair - and the Bug just doesn't seem to mind. This is unheard of.








Music to feel pretty good good good by:
R.L. Burnside - "The Criminal Inside Me" (A Ass Pocket Of Whiskey)
"R.L., listen man - I'm a - wait a second - I'm a little short of money right now, and I was wondering - R.L. - R.L., you got forty nickels? I need forty nickels for a bag of potato chips, come on man......."






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!