See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Ain't Nothing Going On But The Red

11/20/2002 - 1:16 p.m.


I like to add an entry every once in a while, even if I have bupkiss on the thought patrol radar screen. So, here we go, blah blah blah, blah blah blah.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

When I first ran across the term "cosplay," it was just mentioned in passing, and I had no idea what it meant. I thunk and thunk, and the best I could come up with was that it was pronounced "cozz-play," and had something to do with Bill Cosby. Like, maybe there was some secret subculture where people enacted old scripts of "Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids," kinda like "The Real Live Brady Bunch."

But no, it turns out to be something even weirder. First of all, it's pronounced "coss-play," and involves people dressing up like their fave anim� characters.

Now, far be it from ole Red to judge, cuz, Elvis knows, I have some of my own special oddities that many a person would call weird and perhaps even creepy, but man oh Manischewitz, I can't tell you how glad I am that I have never felt the urge to engage in this behavior. Seriously, whatever works for you, but, the idea of dressing up like Sailor Moon or Ultraman or one of the Starblazers just causes me to shudder. Unless it's Halloweeen or a costume party or something. That's fine. But, on a regular basis? No thanks. Way too Renaissance Faire for me....

Now, Captain Harlock, on the other hand.... dressing up like him every day would rock.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Confidential to Loo-ee-zee and Ree-Wind-Zee -

When you're in a high-noise environment, like a rock club or dance hall, there's a very simple way to make yourself heard by your friend, sister, main squeeze, or waitress - wrap your hand into a tube shape, put it next to your vixtim's ear, put your mouth right next to your hand, and, then, with all your might, whisper. Works like a charm.

Also, you can try putting your mouth right at the base of their skull and hollering.

Just don't get 'em mixed up.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Today's my girlf's b-day. I made a very funny joke before when I pretended I didn't remember, and said, "What are you talking about? Do we have plans tonight?"

Har. I kill me.

I don't think she thought it was funny, though, cuz she's feeling all poorly and sickly.

Maybe she'll pep up when I drop the gift bomb on her later.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

In other sicky news, OldCat� was sure worrying me at the end of last week and the beginning of this one. First, he started lying in one place and not doing anything, athen he started walking gingerly and careful-like, then his left eye started to get all gummy and inflamed and gross.

The vet said, "Well, looks like he has an infection, give him these pills and put this goop on his eye."

So I have been doing exactly that, and he's getting better, thank Memphis. He's close to back to normal, jumping up on the bathroom sink for water and running and playing with (and hissing at) NewCat� again. Almost back to full strength.

He's been sick before, so he's learned that pills make him feel better. Unfortunately, he doesn't understand "You have to keep taking them until they're all gone, even though you feel better." So this morning was the start of about a week of the super fun "Ha, you think I swallowed it but I secretly tucked it under my tongue and now I'm spitting it out and your fingers are gonna get all white and mediciney" game.

I love that game.

We won't even go into how much he likes having that goop smeared on his eye.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

And in more invalid news - woodencha know it? Ole Red went and stepped on a bad piece of concrete and effed up his ankle yet again. It wasn't anywhere as spectacular an occurence as the ankle-effing described here, so I won't go into the details, except to say - Ow. A lot.
Music to have nothing to say by:
Kraftwerk - "Autobahn" (Autobahn)
"Die Fahrbahn ist ein graues Band
Weisse Streifen, gruener Rand"






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
1 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!