See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Huh. I wonder.....

04/11/2002 - 11:31 a.m.


Many moons ago, before white man came to this land, I signed up with this thing called Bigfoot, which claimed it was going to give you an email address for life. The idea being, that you could always give people this email address, and what ever email address you were using, this Bigfoot service would forward it there, as long as you kept the forward link updated.

Great idea, right? Yeah, except I totally forgot about it right after I signed up for it. Every once in a while, I'd get an email from them, telling me they'd changed their privacy policy, or some such, but I never actually used the thing. Not even once. A while back, I got another email from the thing, saying I had to update my profile and agree to receive spam from them in order for them to continue forwarding my mail.

As I had never used the service, and I like receiving spam about as much as I liked having muscle biopsies in my thighs (imagine something like a Bic pen having its entire length driven into the meat of your thigh - ow-EEEE!), I did nothing, and assumed they'd killed off my account.

Guess not, cuz today, I got this in the mail:
Dear Friend! The following is a private e-mail message that was generated by Bigfoot. The sender of this message found your name in the Bigfoot Directory and has chosen to send you a "screened message". Per your request, Bigfoot has kept your e-mail address anonymous but has allowed this message to be sent through to you.
And here's the text of the email:
Red, is that you! Please let me know!
That's the entire text. Not a hint as to who it's from.

The funny thing is, it's the kind of thing I might write. Like once when I was checking to see if I had the correct email address, I sent the following message:
Dear Friend-of-Red:

Did you get this message? Let me know if you did or didn't.

Yer pal,

Red
Ha! I kill me!

So I have this mystery message, from someone who might or might not be looking for me. Although the return address does look like someone I know. So I'm gonna respond with this:
Well, yes, it certainly is. But I am not sure if it's the Red you want, because I'm not sure who you are. Though the email address does give me an idea. Is that you?
Ha! I kill me again!

Trouble is, if it's who I think it is, I'm not sure I want to re-establish communication. We've had a long and troubled history, and we each have hurt the other quite substantially over the years. I am just not sure I want to start that cycle all over again. Then again, I'm not sure I don't. Tangly wangly relationship messes. Yum yum gimme some.

Update:

Welp, it's who I thought it was. Her entire response:
Red, It's [Come-Up-With-Good-Pseudonym]!
Which is even weirder. Cuz, she went through all sortsa trouble to find me, and now she's saying basically nothing. Then again, when last we communicated, I kinda dropped off the face of the earth, so she's probably being careful and not putting too much out there until she sees what she gets back from me. Wise move.






Music to puzzle by:
Public Enemy - "She Watch Channel Zero?!" (It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back)
"The woman makes the men all pause
And if you got a woman she might make you forget yours"






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!