See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Ol' Red Eyes Is Back

05/20/2002 - 3:14 p.m.


So, I went away. I brought my laptop so I could keep track of what I did and make daily diary entries. Yuh. Like that was gonna happen. I did start an entry about the Gary show, which I will dig up and post later. Here is a quick recap of my last several days, stolen from an email I sent to a pal. I'll be expanding on the high points here later.

Here's how I spent last week -

Monday, Tuesday, part of Wednesday - Work work work work work work WORK. We had an emergency fix to the software to make that required lots of painful attention.

Midday Wednesday - drive down to New York to see a show by Gary Wilson, who is a reclusive madman musician who released one record back in the late 70s and then disappeared until he was rediscovered last year working the graveyard shift in an adult book store in San Diego. As I have no idea if he will ever play out again, this was a mandatory attendance, and was really terrific.

Thursday morning - drive back to Boston. Thursday afternoon - do some last minute preparations to travel to North Carolina for a wedding this weekend.

Friday morning - get up at the unholy hour of 5:30 to get to the airport in time for the 9 am flight. Stand in a huge long line for over an hour to check-in, then in another for 25 minutes just to get to the security gate. We finally had to get someone to let us jump the line so that we could get on the plane with 10 minutes to spare. This worked in our favor though, as they upgraded us to first class for some reason.

Then we changed planes and were not so lucky as to get upgraded a second time. Those Canadair Regional Jets are SMALL.

Friday afternoon - pick up rental car, drive into town to get lunch. Discover groovy old diner with so-so food but very friendly people. Also discover and photograph "Hy Style Fashions," which specializes in actual Pimp Clothing. I'm not kidding. Drive 3 hours to the town where the wedding is going to be. Check into hotel. Friends take nap, I go out and explore a bit. Things are different in the south. People are friendly. Weird.

Friday night - there is not a thing to do in Sanford, North Carolina. Movie theatre has Spider-Man and The Rookie. No one wants to see the Rookie, I've seen Spider-Man, but we think we'll go to that. We decide to eat at the Chinese restaurant next door. Traveling with a vegan and a vegetarian in the South is not so easy. My pal JD (the vegan) asks for "brown rice" - he gets, natch, fried rice. PORK fried rice. The waitress is a gem, though. As we leave the restaurant, we decide, based on the parking lot FULL of teenagers, that Spider-Man is a miss. We'll get some beer and watch cable. We go to the gas/booze store (the Beverage Hut) across from the hotel. It's like a scene from Deliverance - we are NOT welcome. We buy our beer and leave. Fast.

Watch bad tv, drink beer, go to bed.

Saturday morning - get up, get dressed, drive to church. Very nice wedding. After small reception, many folks go to seafood restaurant.

Saturday late afternoon/evening - Drive to beach house where bride and groom and friends are spending weekend. Yep, many friends have been invited along on the "honeymoon." 4 hour drive because the directions make us go 80 miles northwest before turning east. Through heavy heavy rains. Urg.

Saturday night - Arrive at beach house - rain rain rain. Many people, many beers, many pizzas. Water warm, but there is rain. Much rain. And heavy surf. And darkness. Swimming is frowned upon.

Sunday morning - Wake up. Raining. Still. Go out to breakfast. Come back, play Simpsons Trivia Game. Leave game early to pack for drive back to airport.

Sunday afternoon - drive 3 hours to airport. Get in line. Check in. Walk. Get in line. Go through security. Walk. Walk. Walk. Try to get seat assignments. Get told to come back later. Walk to snack bar. Wait in line. Wait in line. Wait in line. Only 3 people in line in front of me, still takes 15 minutes to get to front of line. Give order 4 times. Get food. Eat. Walk back to gate. Try to get seat assignment. Get told to come back later again. Plane arrives. Everyone boards. Finally get seat assignment. Horrid uncomfortable plane.

Sunday night - Get to Cincinnati. Walk long way from arrival gate to departure gate. Wait for second flight. Do Mad Libs. Get on second flight. Only one of 4 flights where all 3 of us end up in same row.

Monday morning - arrive in Boston, 12:30 am. Wait for luggage. Wait for girlfriend to pick us up to take us home. Go to bed. Later, wake up and go to work.

So, yeah, in the last 5 days, I have spent easily 30 hours either traveling, or waiting to travel. Or worrying about not getting on the plane. Or both. Or all 3. Yikes.






Music to read 100s of emails by:
Gary Wilson - "When You Walk Into My Dreams" (You Think You Really Know Me)
"When you walk into my dreams - ha!
Sometimes I feel like God forgot me - like God forgot me!
Sodium Pentathol!
Your love goes on like a makeout party - like a makeout party!
But don't look back - ha!
A thousand kisses on the beach - with Karen! Hey!"






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!