See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Where did this frigging energy come from?

01/24/2002 - 11:31 p.m.


A very weird thing happened to me on Tuesday night. Are you ready? Here it is:

I went to the gym.

Ok, that's not the weird part. What's weird is what happened after I went to the gym: I had all this energy, and I still do.

Regular (ha! all one of you) readers of Mistakes and Other Delights may remember that I recently embarked on an effort to lose a big pile of weight that I've been carrying around like a withered limb for the past few years. This has meant going on a diet and going to the gym. I've been pretty good about sticking to the diet for the last 10 or so days, though it's been filthy hard to change the habits of many years (I failed tonight and had a Burger King Chicken Sandwich and a Coke, but that's another story). And - hey - I have been to the gym - exactly once. Two nights ago - Tuesday.

And it sucked royally. Hurty hurty hurt hurt. Muscle achy no fun. Exhausted - must rest. Help me, Spock.

But - come Wednesday morning, I was all pepped up and ready to do stuff I haven't done much of in recent years. Hup hup ho. Run up the stairs. Bounce up and down on the balls of my feet while talking to coworkers. Say things like:
    "Hey, you walking to the sandwich place for lunch? Lemme come with you."
    "Hey, you walking to the mall for a snack? Lemme come with you!"
    "Hey! You going to pick up dinner for the folks who have to work late? Lemme come with you!"
Wednesday night was a night of working late terror - at 1:15 when all was finally said and done, I was ready to crawl into my bottom desk drawer and never come out. Worse yet, only getting 6 hours of sleep meant leaving work early today because I was too bleary-minded to focus. But: I could not nap when I got home. Try as I might, my body kept saying, "Hey? Hey! Remember me? Let's go - um - do something! Come on!"

So, after failing to nap for two hours, I went and traded in the Rental Cheese Mobile for a smaller creep device - this turns out to be a Neon, also not much of a car, but at least it fits in the garage - unlike the Stratus ("America's Favorite mid-size car"!) - and then went off to my planned activity for the night - rehearsal for my special guest appearance.

Special guest what?

In previous entries, I've alluded to the fact that I fancy myself a bit of a musician, and so now I come clean. I sing, play the guitar, write things I like to think of as songs, and enjoy getting in front of people and making a spectacle of myself.

I'm not in a band, but - I do make special guest appearances from time to time with a bunch of pals who are in a band. They have a highly stylized look and act - a bit of a show band, really. They all have personas, characters, if you will, when onstage, and I do the same, appearing as various beings who enter the world of the band for a while, share the stage and spotlight, do their thing (often, though not always, a song), and then depart. One year right after Christmas I was Santa Claus, taking it easy before getting back in the saddle........

Anyway, in a couple of weeks, this band has a show, and we will be debuting a new song for an old character, and tonight was a v. important rehearsal for said show, as we have never finalized the arrangement of the song, and I wasnt sure how i was going to sing it. Blah blah blah. So, anyway, I get to the practice space and the band is rocking along like madmen, and I go in.

These guys are all people I think quite highly of, who, for various reasons, I mostly don't see that often, so we spend some time catching up, and then they do a couple more new numbers they're working on. I sit on the other band's drum stool and enjoy a frosty can of PBR. Then it's my turn.

I leap off the stool and race for the mike. I have three reasons to do this - first, because I am so excited to be with the band and working, especially on this particular song, which is, I have to say, pretty effing stellar. Second, because I love love LOVE singing, especially with any kind of ausdience, and these 4 guys constitute enough of an audience for me to get all ham-riffic. And third, because - yup - I've got all this energy flowing through my body.

We start the first runthrough, and from the first note, I'm jumping up and down and stretching and leaning and falling and catching myself and dancing around and back and forth and oh my holy Elvis it is just too much fun to even explain. Which makes sense, because I haven't sung in a while and all my "Hey lookame, ma, I'm rocking!" juice has been backed up. But the odd and exciting part is that after 7 or 8 runthroughs, I was still feeling hyper and wired and emoting like a 6 year old who's up late at the adult party and who's been given a "drink" and has convinced himself he's drunk and is making sure everyone knows it.....

I know people who start exercising say they have a lot more energy after they start, but - um - if this is just the beginning, what the heck is gonna happen after my next visit to the gym, and the next, and the one after that? I'm almost afraid to find out.......








Music to sweat by:
Captain Beefheart - "Hothead" (Doc at the Radar Station)
"She's a hobo wiretoaster.... She's a circle on a spit - sssss........."






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!