See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

An Almost Snowy Day

02/10/2002 - 10:48 p.m.


It was looking like it was going to snow today. In fact, it did snow for about three minutes. Then it kinda half-rained. Then it did nothing. This would have been a good day for a nice steady snowfall. Or a good solid rain. But this "looking like it is going to snow and then not snowing" thing was a big let down all the way around.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

In other news, I am getting some real weird vibes about my dad these days..... all sorts of things are reminding me of him... making me think about how much I really do miss him... which as I've said before is a new kinda experience... and not entirely a pleasant one........

I was watching a very old taped-off cable video of Jerry Lewis's "Visit To A Small Planet" yesterday. Granted that this is not one of Jerry's greatest solo outings, but it still has the classic beatnik coffeehouse scene, and is thus worth every minute of yer time.

The thing is - there was a commercial at the end that just reduced me to absolute jello. I was playing with the cats, and thus didn't get to the remote right away, and this commercial that our local telephone company used to run came on. It was the worst kind of rank sentimentalism - all these men talking about their fathers, and how they like to call them to chat about sports, or what have you..... Now, obviously, this is intended to tug at the heartstrings, and normally I like to scoff at such stuff, projecting an attitude of super cool and above-it-all-ness, but danged if it didn't do exactly what they wanted, because the last thing any of 'em says is, "My dad still calls, just to say, 'How's my boy?'"

Needless to say, ole Red just about bust a gut at that point......

Now, it has been commented on by at least one viewer that ole Red has his own special set o' curses, and ya don't often see any of that newfangled "obscenity" or "profanity" in Mistakes And Other Delights, but in this case, I'm gonna have to make an exception:

Those motherfuckers really tore my heart out with that one.

Don't they know that there's folks in this world who'd give just about anything to have that happen just once?

Yeah, Red, they know, but - wutta they care? They got phone service to sell.

Motherfuckers.






Music to hate commerce and love my dad by:
Interzone - "Hintermaenner" (Interzone (1st elpee))
"Vergiss was du bist -
Vergiss was du denkst -
Vergiss dein heisses Blut -
Du hast es mir schon fast geschenkt"






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!