See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Famous Monsters

02/20/2002 - 11:06 p.m.


So, life can't just be good for a coupla effing days. No, I have to wake up this morning with the dogmothering flu. Y'all remember the flu? Headache. Scratchy throat. Fever. And, glory of glories, the ever-loving "intestinal distress."

Not a terrible case of intestinal distress, but bad enough. I'll spare you the details.

So I took the day off. And you know you're sick when you take the day off, and you sleep. Ok, truth be told, along about 3 o'clock, I did lay down on the old couch and dig a truly disastrous British rip off of "The Fly" called "The Projected Man." Veddy veddy serious - and veddy veddy bad - I taped it - should provide some good found voices for some project or other.

But dig this weirdity - way back when yours truly was just a wee shaver, I used to have a pal who was super keen on Creature Double Feature movies and Famous Monsters of Filmland and the like.
Sidebar:

For you younguns and non-Americans, Creature Double Feature used to be a standby on independent tv channels - they'd show the cheapest, tawdriest Godzilla ripoffs ever, often with a wacky monster-related host, usually a mad scientist or a vampire or an unspecified "ghoul." Nowadays, Creature Double Feature has been replaced by phone sex infomercials and religious programming. CDF-style shows existed for two reasons - one, they were cheaper than dirt to make - they payed almost nothing for the rights to show those movies, and two, the FCC used to mandate a certain amount of original programming on every station - they were trying to force a bit of a hometown feel on everyone. They seem to have relaxed that requirement in recent years.

Famous Monsters of Filmland was a magazine devoted to CDF-style movies, but without a hint of irony. Kinda like Premiere, only printed on recycled toilet paper.
End sidebar
Anyway, as I was saying, I had this pal who was way into that kinda stuff, and he used to have a picture up on his wall of a page from FMOF (Famous Monsters of etc), which featured a little-known blond starlet he was particularly taken with. I wouldn't have been able to dredge her name out of my psyche for a kajillion dollars, but danged if she wasn't in "The Projected Man." Right there walking around in her matching blue panty and bra set for half her screen time, Miss Tracey Crisp. Can't say I blame my pal, actually - she was mighty fetching. There's just something about a slim blond girl wearing hardly anything, crying her eyes out because they've been damaged by invisible laser beams......... gets ya right here.


Bonus Extra Super Cool Update:

Thanks to the uber-snazz Peth, I can now show you the photo my pal adorned his wall with..... and here it is!

And wuddya know? It's even from "The Projected Man!" Who knew?





Music to be sick by:
Lou Reed - "Berlin" (Berlin)
"In Berlin, by the wall, you're 5 feet 2 inches tall....."






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!