See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Redsy and the Disappointo-Video

06/26/2002 - 2:24 a.m.


Man oh Manischewitz, what a disappointment.

Here's the deal -

back about 12 or so years ago, I saw me this here swinging piece of animation called "Deadsy and the Sexo-Chanjo." It was at one of them there animation festival movie theatre event nights. And danged if it didn't stick in my head like crazy, like that girl or guy in 6th grade that loved you, but you really had no use for. Inescapable, it's been. Over the years, I have thought of it often, replaying the bits of it I could remember, especially the whacked-out narration, including my fave-rave section, the last couple of lines.

A few times I tried to find some info on it, but was monumetnally unsuccessful. I couldn't even find any evidence that the dang thing existed. I was beginning to think that maybe I had dreamt up the whole thing in my own crazy little noggin.

Then, about six months ago, I did yet another web search, and this time discovered that it was made by a feller named David Anderson, and was written by a writerly spud named Russell Hoban. I also discovered it was not available to buy. Sad Red. Then I checked that site again a couple months back, and discovered that, praise Elvis, I could get my very own copy of "Deadsy," and its (his?) companion piece "Door," but I had to get it on a British video tape, which meant I'd have to get it converted to good old USA video format.

Well, you know ole Red jumped at the chance and got hisself a copy, don'tcha? You also know he then let it sit for a big long while before getting it converted.

Yeah, RedCrastinator� strikes again. But, finally, tonight was the conversion night, and after I got home with the nice clean converted copy, ole Red sat down on the couch with his two best cats and prepared to enjoy 12 years worth of memories.

Oh boy!

Hee wack!

And guess what?

It's good, but it sure ain't as good as I remember it. The animation is still keen, and so is the story and the narration, but my memory had built it into something way more freaky and wild than it actually is.

Don't get me wrong - I'm glad I have it, and I will probably watch it again from time to time, but - derned if I am not just the wee-est bit disappointed. Of course, this gives me a super=great idea, which is - to do a cover version of the Deadsy narration. Yeah. That'll be cool.

Don'tcha think?






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
2 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!