See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

Germany is haunting me

02/15/2002 - 10:07 p.m.


Germany has been popping up in my life a lot the last few days.... first, a CD of one of my fave German records showed up literally months after I ordered it from Amazon, then I ran across some of my olde German texts when looking for a particular book to loan to a friend, then I read a truly astonishing entry by monstre which reminded me powerfully of my life there, and then today I met a woman who works in my office building from Germany; I was of course required to spray my once-fluent-now-faltering German at her......

She was good enough to pretend to be impressed by my skill, and to not be offended when I used the polite form of address.... ouch. Wotta dope.

I am beginning to think I should go back. To Germany. I haven't been there since I left, and I really do miss it. Yeah, sure, I had to go to Switzerland on business a few years back, but that was - well - Switzerland. Not quite the same thing.

Of course, just going there for a week or two isn't going to be quite the same thing either. Living somewhere for a year means no longer being a tourist. And I'm not so sure I want to be a tourist in a place I once considered home. Cuz because, that's what I would be now. A tourist. Someone passing by, just looking around, wow, how things have changed, look, that used to be the uh, place, and there, that was - um - geez - what was it called - well, it was something other than what it is now.

And yeah, everything's changed, I'm sure. It's been a long time, for one thing. Frau Becker probably doesn't run the cafe anymore, assuming it's even still there. And reunification must have made things real diff, real fast.

But the real problem is the question of my friends. I don't know where any of them are now. My history of leaving people and places behind really worked to my disadvantage, again, and I am not in touch with a single one of those people who were so very important to me.

Quiet.
Cleo.
Bruder.
Schwesterschatz.
Curly.
Noseface.
Silk.
Mikeymike.
AppleBrother.
Raspberry.
Tolchok.
Emvay.
Farmer Ted.
Blondie.
Mofagirl.
Gothette.
CynicP.
And, of course, my darling Mary.

How did I let that happen?

Pretty filthy easy, actually. Ya grow up moving from place to place, year after year after filthy year, leaving places, things, and most of all people behind, and it gets pretty dang easy to keep it up. Took me years to even figure out I was doing it, let alone figure out how to fight it. And for my German pals, that was just too dang late......

So maybe I won't go back. Maybe I'll just think about my pals, and write about 'em.

Cuz danged if I don't miss 'em. And their homeland. Oh, nostalgia, how you sneak up on us, your dewy claws stroking the back of our necks.....

Oh Red, you poetic dogmother, you.....

Richie.Ine.Gege.Kathrin.Ollie.Grizge.Silke.Laessie.Boskopp.Hember.Ratte.Wirth.Bauer.Annette.Chris.Sylvie.Peter Helbing






Music to get all misty-eyed about my youth by:
Afghan Whigs - "Bulletproof" (Black Love)
"To tell the truth... to tell it well... it all depends upon the liar...."






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!