See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

I Sense A Great Disturbance In Something Or Other

07/30/2002 - 7:42 p.m.


Odd things are happening.

They cause me worry.

First of all, I have learned that PoppoTartos are now smaller, but the box is still the same size! I discovered this when I opened a box of frosted raspberry PoppoTartos earlier. This is worse than the kind of jippery that candy bar manufacturers used to pull with those cardboard tray dealies that made you think that the candy bar was as big as the wrapper, or purt near, when it just plain wasn't.

Btchy would say I shouldn't be eating frosted raspberry PoppoTartos anyway, and she'd be right. But they don't make baby carrot flavored PoppoTartos, frosted or not, so there I was.

Second, I was having a super hard time figuring out what was the deal with "Running Scared" by Roy "The Big O" Orbison. I could not for the life of me figure out if it was in 3/4 or 4/4 time. This seems crazy, because it's one of the all-time simplest tunes, though simultaneously one of the coolest.

Turns out that the reason I was having such a hard time is, it's in both. Starts in 3/4, ends in 4/4. Tricky feller, that Roy.

Third and most disturbingly, I turned to my coworker Frick for help in determining which time signature it was in. This seemed like a good idea, as Frick is, after all, a drummer. Who is not unfamiliar with the rock genre.

I figured I could just go into his office, say "Running Scared - 3/4 or 4/4?" and walk out 3 (or 4) seconds later with the answer.

There was really only one problem with this plan, and it immediately became apparent, when he said, with complete straightfacedness and honesty, "I've never heard of it."

Now really. What kind of jamoke gets to be in his mid-30s without hearing "Running Scared," let alone never even hearing of it?

This is not right. Not right at all.



No.








Music to be worried about the future of mankind by:
Nick Cave And His Bad Bad Seeds - "Tupelo" (The Firstborn Is Dead)
Ya can say these streets are rivers -
Ya can call these rivers streets!
Ya can tell yerself yer dreaming buddy,
But no sleep runs this deep!
No!
No sleep runs this deep!






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!