See what I think is important today See what I thought was important before today


Talk to me now:
OLD!!! Text message me
168 characters only, please!
Sign my guestbook
Leave me a note
Send me mail
IM me


Lemme talk to you:
Join my diary's NotifyList
Put your email address in the box then click the button



Join my ContestList
Put your email address in the box then click the button


Powered by the magic of
NotifyList.com


Diaryland is calling.....
Call Me Now! (866) 206-9067 x3879
<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

A Weekend Away

03/11/2002 - 3:30 p.m.


Back from the big weekend away. It was nice. We had a lovely romantic room in a lovely romantic bed and breakfast, and there were no tensions or discomforts or whatnot, and there was very nice time spent together.

I did discover that she's a hitter - when lightly peeved, she's wont to haul off and smack me in the bicep - or the thigh - which is no big deal, but it was the cause of much mild hilarity when she banged her hand on my palm pilot's hard case edge and wailed piteously, as though it were somehow my fault.

We went to the Museum of Contemporary Art, which featured a lot of not-so-very-interesting conceptual art. Blah blah blah this piece represents man's need to blah blah blah and examining the interface between senility and banality and blah blah blah working with broken toys and used motor oil this artist keenly depicts the hunger in the soul of modern man and blah blah blah and oh the art of it all, as Robokopf would say.

This was followed by dinner at a very swell restaurant that has clearly not been remodeled since the mid 60s, thank Elvis, and was truly delightful! The food was mediocre, but the oddities involved were stellar. For example, the dinners include "relish, salad, soup or juice, homemade bread...." Yes, that's right, soup or juice, in this case tomato, because, well, juice is always served as an appetizer, isn't it? The "relish" consisted of a three section relish tray, one section containing inividually wrapped crackers, the other two containing: a strange concoction made of kidney beans and what tasted like a watery onion dip, and cottage cheese, with "something" in it - we couldn't figure out what. Oh, this also came with a small plastic ramikin of pasteurized processed cheese food spread.

It was a mighty swell experience, all around, and if you're ever in North Adams, Mass, head south on Route 8 for a couple of miles and visit the Bounti-Fare. it's on the right, just past the somewhat creepy shopping plaza.

After dinner, we decided to head over to the creepy shopping plaza to see The Time Machine starring Guy Pearce.

Well.

This is certainly the worst movie I have seen this year, and probably the worst movie I saw last year, or the year before, or the year before. And likely the worst I will see all this year. And next. So bad, it's bad. As in - not good. As in - appalling. As in - what the filth were they thinking? As in - make the bad men stop with the hurting and the horror and the bad music and the giant plot holes you could drive a submarine through and you know it's a bad sign when a half hour into a movie called The Time Machine the time machine hasn't even been built yet!

As for Jeremy Irons as the Borg Queen - I mean, the Morlock King - well, the less said the better.

When the best part of the movie is the "Make 7 up yours" guy, it's time to go home. But we stuck it out till the end, cuz the last thing I was going to do was wonder how they were going to resolve it all........ and have to sit through the beginning again at some later time.

Other than that, the trip was a ton of fun.








Music to travel by:
The Nits - "Tent reprise" (Tent)
"Your name - address - place of birth - passport number"






See what I did there? I went and moved my diaryring to a rings and reviews page!


<<< die Schatten der Vergangenheit<<< >>> es strahlt, die Zukunft>>>

These are Japanese drummers. Yep, those are drums!

Have something to say
about this entry?
Spill it, kitten!!
0 kittens have spilled it thus far!


More Fun with Red
Find out a wee bit about little ole Red
See what state my current contest is in
See what diary rings I am associated with
See my photo gallery
Visit my real-live website (not available in all areas)
Hear some music I wrote (not available in all areas)
♦ More fun coming soon....


Use this ginchy little piece of elven magic to enter the
Wht Th' heck Did Red Mean?!?!?!?Contest!

Make your guess....
get this gear!



Contest status:

OPEN!!!
Enter at your own peril!!!!